AUDIO: CRITICAL EVALUATION

Despite Digital First being the longest of my classes, Tuesdays went by quickly because I learned so many things. Everything was fast paced, like David teaching us how to use zoom recorders right away, and didn’t leave me any time to feel awkward. I now have experience in interviewing people and I’ve long since stopped feeling stupid about listening to my own voice.

Digital First prompted me to think more critically and creatively about tasks. I struggled with recognizing different angles newspapers took and with holding back my own opinions at inappropriate times. Engaging in group work for the first time wasn’t easy either. But the bitter efforts I’d put into overcoming my shortcomings made the end result all the more sweet.

When I first began this module, David asked me what kinds of radios or podcasts I listened to and with my face burning, I had to admit I didn’t really listen to any audio content – imagine my surprise at now being confident in producing audio content! It’s finally starting to sink in that I’m a journalism student now that my range of journalistic stories is beginning to grow.

I’m a little disappointed I wasn’t able to push myself to try interviews or discussions during my time in Audio, but I think my positive experience with radio will give me the confidence to try for the group blog assignment in the future! I’m worried about managing my time while considering my groupmates’ individual deadlines and schedules, but I’m sure it’ll work out.

If the Video part of this module is anywhere near how fun and informative Audio was, I’m really looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

